It’s all about input and output

March 28, 2009 at 5:18 pm 4 comments

Today I discovered (via @carlhoerberg) the great service Dial2Do. It let’s me updated me, my friends(sms/email) and twitter on the fly from the mobile without using the keypad. This is a service I’ve been wanting for a long, long time.

As a student in Sweden (yeah I’m back from my exchange year in Germany) I use my bicycle a lot, and it’s just too much of a hassle to text while biking. So, now with Dial2D0 I just call a swedish phone number and say:

-“TEXT”

-Who would you like to text?

-“CARL”

-Texting Carl

*BEEP*

-“The party starts at 5, my place”

*BEEP*

-That’s done. What would you like to do? /End of Call

This is brilliant, since the input devices (keyboard, touch screen) are too small on mobiles to achieve rapidly typing while doing other things at the same time. The next step is to disconnect the dial-up step. OK, pressing a speed-dial key is not too much effort, but calling rates vary and data rates are rapidly decreasing (converging to flat rate in Sweden).

Another hot feature is the “add to calendar” feature. Imagine your all-synced-calenders (google calander, PC-calendar, mobile phone-calendar) which you can update on the fly, and the events that you add are automatically added to the calendars of your affected friends/co-workers. Sweet!

The service still has some initial problems (like twitter posts getting mixed-up).

(Yeah, I’m back blogging! I’ll post twice a week. Additionally I post every day/second day from my mobile on posterous (rhodin.posterous.com, mostly pictures from everyday life and in Swedish), and a couple of times a day on twitter (@rhodin [sv,en,de]).

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Let’s start Open Coffee Club in Linköping! Inspired by Music and [computer]Games

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Martin  |  March 29, 2009 at 8:25 pm

    Coolt – har reggat mig nu och är imponerad!

    Hoppas på fler bloggposter snart.

    >martin

    Reply
  • 2. Philipp  |  April 2, 2009 at 7:09 am

    Hey Johan!

    I almost threw your feed out of my rss-reader. But now you’re back! I’m looking forward to read great stories on your site.

    Hope to see you sometime!

    Greets from Aachen,
    Philipp

    Reply
  • 3. rhodin  |  April 2, 2009 at 9:14 am

    Yeah, like next weekend in Aachen?!

    Reply
  • 4. Indian Premier League  |  April 18, 2015 at 1:59 pm

    Hі, I loog oon too yoour bloogs liuke evry ԝeek.
    Yourr story-telling stylle iss awesome, kedp iit սp!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feeds

RSS My facebook shared items

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

My Shared items

My del.icio.us

My Flickr


